2022 Student Leadership

2022 Student Leadership

1 year ago

Student leadership is an important aspect of collegiate life and at St Paul’s this is no exception.

In November the Students Club elected their 2022 committee: Mr Henry Hughes [BPM II], Mr Sebastian Shanahan [BComm/LLB II], Mr Nicholas Jones [BComm/BAdvStudies II], Mr Steven Parras [BComm II], Mr Hayden Fleming [BA/LLB II], Mr Mitchell Cassie [BSports&ExMgmt II] and Mr Tom Nivison [BBus/BSc II]. The new committee takes over in January.

Earlier the Middle Common Room, which is the student membership of Graduate House, elected their third Executive: Mr Hugh Schroder [MD I], Mr Jethro Mahon [MComm I], Mr Vivek Chopra [JD I], Miss Eliza Santalucia [DDM I] and Mr Will McManus [no info on Start Rez!]. The third MCR Executive took office with immediate effect.

The College community congratulates all those recently elected to leadership roles. It is also a time to thank the 2021 leaders for their tireless efforts in a most difficult year for student participation in College life. Without the resilience and forward planning of the committee and the executive far fewer opportunities for student involvement would have occurred. Special thanks to the 2021 Senior Student Mr Matt Moran and the 2021 Middle Prefect Mr Meheer Zaveri.

Historical note. In the 1880s the “senior students” were those who had been resident the longest. A ‘general committee’ of students came into effect in 1909. It was not until 1928 that the Senior Student became an elected position, along with the committee, by the whole student body.

Pictured above: 2022 SClub committee left to right: Messrs Parrras, Cassie, Jones, the Warden, Messrs Hughes, Shanhan  Nivison, and Fleming